Why I Write…

I’ve seen lots of articles, conversations, etc lately blaming social media for just about everything you can think of. Divorce, adultery, neglecting your children, promoting your children and so on. Ad nauseam. Quite frankly, I think it’s a bit of a cop out.

I started this blog, a hundred years ago. For reasons I’ve mostly forgotten. Except for one. The big one. The main one. I like to write. Pure and simple. I never thought about making money. I just wrote. About all sorts of stuff. All the times. And then as time went on life kind of intervened. Or maybe it was that third child. Who knows? I just stopped writing. Every so often I’d get a semi wild hair and post sporadically, and then off the grid again. It was just life, man.

I never once, in all these years, used my blog to validate myself. Or my opinions. Or really anything, for that matter. I just wrote about whatever was on my mind at the time. I tried to be honest and real. Not for anyone in particular. Just for myself. Because I enjoyed it. Because I could.

This year I’m turning 40. And I’m excited. I’m trying new things and I’m being brave in ways I’ve never been before. Last week I took the Jeopardy online test, and rocked it. In two weeks I’m doing a 5k with some girlfriends. The first of twelve, one a month. It will probably kill me dead, but I’m doing it. Happily and joyfully. As I’ve said before, my time might not be very good but it ain’t gonna get any better on the couch! This is the Year of Me and I am loving it. I’m also slowly rediscovering my love of writing. Not because I have to, but because I finally feel like I have something to say again.

All that having been said, I love social media. It allows me to keep up with friends and family who live far away. They get to see pictures of the boys as they grow up. It makes my heart happy. I don’t think I post things on there for reactions, attention or personal validation either. For me, it’s fun and silly, and a chance to talk to my friends. I’m not neglecting my children, nor do I feel I’m promoting them. I’m just being a SAHM. I do homework with my boys, we eat dinner together every night, we play outside, we also do fun crafts/experiments together, and a multitude of other things. Trust me when I tell you, I’m as IN the moment with them as you can get. I’m fully aware that they are only this age for a short time, and its time I can never get back. I get it. I get it and it slightly depresses the hell out of me because time is passing too damn fast for me.

I’m just trying to hang on and enjoy the ride, y’all…

Leave a Reply

